My Sheveling Present: February 24, 2016

Yes, I know sheveling might not actually be a word, but, well…I like it, so I’m adopting it. It fits my life right now. A week before my Accomplice returns to work, we’ve made significant progress in several particularly unlovely areas of household chaos. Some of it has been actual cleaning. He’s been busy in the garage; sorting, tossing, and disassembling items for recycling. I’ve been moving through my study and taking on smaller projects in the living and family rooms, as well as our bedroom.

There’ve been other things, too. More family time, and more time for the intersecting orbits that we all seem to prefer. There’s been more time for sleep, watching shows, reading, and writing.

And we’ve been taking care of some administration stuff. My Accomplice finally did something we’ve been wanting to do for years, and upgraded our internet. Hopefully, we’ll now all be able to use it as we want to, regardless of how many of us want to use it together, even if we’re all streaming (which isn’t likely, but still). We were still using the wireless plan I got when we had one laptop…before Kindles, 3DSs, streaming Netflix, Minecraft, and Skype. We’d been assigning days when each of us had priority, just to give everyone a chance to do what they wanted.

The combination of getting rid of and upgrading is liberating. I feel lighter and oddly both focused and relaxed. Have you ever felt that way?

Writing:

Plotting:

  • The IDIC Romance: Complete plot/pinch points for 26 stories. Once I get through Week Two plotting (I), draft Theme Reveal and Post Template. 9/26 complete. (I). I’ll be starting the theme reveal and post template this week.

  • Decide on, plan, and plot April CampNaNo novel. Created Scrivener project; created folders for the three main characters. Added original A-Z 2014 stories. Read 1/3 character sketches (Linwood), and added to his folder. Found base character arc I wrote in 2014, read that as well.

Revisions:

  • The IDIC Romance: Reread “Slow Jazz Awakening” hard copy and notate; adapt revision plan as needed; write revised draft – 16 short scenes. Draft 2.5 rewrite; Scene 12/16 complete; Scene 13-16 in early progress.

Blogging/Social Media:

  • Revise, post, and initiate new blogging schedule; keep all posts current. All posts on time. Nearly prepared to announce new schedule.

  • Answer blog comments and make visits, at least thrice weekly. I may not get to them all; but I will get to some. 1/3.

  • ROW80: Keep visits and updates current; draft, revise, and submit Round One Sponsor Post before January 10.

  • Change one thing weekly in my blog layout.

  • Clear out Inbox and Archive twice weekly; Weed through Transactions in Progress, keeping only currently useful items.

Hometending:

  • Homeschool Administration: Complete all pending paperwork. Draft IHIPs and attend to district’s Peer Review issue;create 2015-2016 Flickr portfolios for both kids, and begin adding to them.
  • Continue decluttering/beautification projects; in home and/or yard, five days weekly. Continue making improvements to our home and our quality of life. General maintenance; organization; decluttering; deep cleaning. 3/5.
  • Go through all online subscriptions; cancel those we no longer need; at least one each week. I’ve sorted a lot into my Transactions in Progress file for near-future review.

Lifetending:

  • Continue planning/ attending outings (personal and family) as desired. Plans firming up to visit NJ friends in April; state museum and a sleepover for my daughter upcoming.

  • NNWM local group: Attend write-ins regularly, and check in on the Facebook group as inspired. Read and critique both projects I’ve been hanging onto; submit and critique weekly for our small crit group. Attended write-in.
  • Complete Stained Snow beta read.

  • My beloveds: One on one time with each, doing something of value to us both, each week. Time with all. Yup! Pretty easy on a vacation week! =D
  • Complete 6 pending book reviews.

Selftending:

  • Write in Abundance, Intentions, and #onegoodcup journals seven times each week. Meditate seven times weekly, including one eating meditation. Explore one new meditative practice. Journaling 3/7; meditation: 3/7.

  • Tai chi practice: One class and one at-home practice each week.

  • Focus on sprints of activity daily (hometending, dancing, tai chi, walking, whatever), and more strenuous activities I enjoy, like swimming and hiking twice monthly. Write twice-monthly health-centered blog posts. Good on the daily moving sprints: walks and hometending. Strenuous activity: 5/2 . 2/2 health blogposts.

Leaps of Faith:

  • Fan fiction stuff: Polish “Mission: Accomplished”, and “Scavenger Hunt”, and offer at Triaxian Silk and/or FanFiction.net. Dealt with the lightweight fixes for “Mission” suggested by my crit group; larger issues simmering.

  • Read through The Writer’s Coloring Book by Rachel Funk Heller in preparation for using it to plot and draft my April CampNaNo Kifo Island project.

  • New goal: Purchase all needed supplies before I finish this month’s Foul Deeds Will Rise chapters, so that I can begin planning as soon as I finish. Order placed; items beginning to arrive.

  • Begin exploring FanFiction.net for possible submissions there. Explored, read through submissions guidelines and procedure, and have been reading and commenting. This one’s a mission accomplished. =D

Kait Nolan’s ROW80 –

The Writing Challenge That Knows You Have a Life!

See other participants’ goals updates here!

 

5 comments

  1. I forgot about April Camp NaNo. Hmmmm. Do I want to do this? I have to think about it, a lot to see if I can fit it into my goals for the month of April.

    I like the way you color code your goals. I need to find a better system myself, because what I’m doing just isn’t working for me at the moment!

    Yay for upgraded internet and for decluttering, etc. And yes, I always feel more focused and relaxed when I do things like this. It’s such a good feeling! Good luck the rest of the week and happy writing, reading and goal crushing! 😀

    • Things are moving along. It’s been a little trickier the last two days or so, since I’ve had outside things, and will tomorrow, too. But I’m getting close to done with several things, even so.

  2. Awesome on the upgraded internet! I remember in the late 1990s I was the only person with a computer and internet so there were very few fights for online time (some, once my mom and sister joined in and borrowed my laptop). When I moved back home in 2006, I said no way to dial up and fights and suggested we get DSL (we had something like 5 computers between us). No complaints there, and everyone was happy.

    • So far, everyone has been able to do what they wanted, without even needing to tell anyone else! Of course, we haven’t all tried at once yet, but this already seems like a huge improvement. Annalise reported being able to watch on her 3DS without buffering at all, which she says was always a problem before.

      We really didn’t fight about it, but it’s nice not having to wait for a turn or feeling as though I’m getting in the way of someone else’s Internet pastimes.

Comments are closed.