ROW80 – “Commencing Countdown……”

Round of Words 80 Goals – Round 1, 2012:

I will complete the rough draft of my unfinished NaNoWriMo novel, Chameleon’s Dish.

  • I completed Chapter Twenty-Two!
  • I now have  11,037 words in Chapter Twenty-Three, “Life,Mirrored”.
  • Things are moving more quickly toward the resolution now –  the key has been found, but the puzzle still needs some uraveling, and there are still several new and old conflicts to complicate the resolution.
  • It still seems that it will be  twenty-five chapters with an epilogue.
  • The words seem to be flowing – a little haltingly and in unexpected ways.  I’m really looking forward to seeing what’s next! =)

I will submit at least four pieces, queries, or proposals to for-pay markets.

  • I submitted my poem, La Reve des Etoiles (The Dream of Stars) to Black Heart Magazine.
  • Response time for this submission is about three months, so I will not be likely to know for certain until Round 2.
  • With the poetry submission, this goal has been attained!

I will update, keep current on a weekly basis, and add writing samples to my Facebook Writer Page, and I will update, edit, and post to both of my regular blogs on at least a weekly basis.

  • I have been keeping up with my Writer Page.
  • I have edited several posts on this blog.
  • I have not posted or edited at The Unfettered Life.  I am not currently able to answer comments there, so I am holding off posting to that blog until the problem is resolved –  and that will be waiting till after the challenge ends.
  • My posting here will likely be status updates and revisions, and not much else, until after this round ends, so that I can focus on my remaining goals.

I will write at least one book review,  and a rough draft of a letter to my father-in-law.

  • I have written as much of a rough draft as I care to.
  • I will let is rest a while, then sift through.
  •  I am thinking of keeping the letter short and assertive, rather than long and defensive.

I will edit, revise where necessary,  and properly categorize all posts in this blog.

  • I have edited several more posts over the days since the last check-in.  This included editing, adding images and links, tagging and categorizing, and editing and responding to comments.
  • The posts are revised, chronologically, through February 16.
  • I will continue on with the edits over the coming days.
  • I am confident I can finish these before the end of the round..

I will input one of my writing notebooks into Penzu, and clip all materials I would like to pursue further.

  • I have been debating, for the last several weeks, whether to move the clipping goal to the second round.
  • I have decided to do this.
  • There may be time to do this before the end of the round, but I would have to rush the process, and I don’t want to be rushed and pressured.
  • I have transcribed the 141 page notebook, and this goal is now attained.
 

So, at the close of this second to last update, I find myself with two goals left to accomplish:

  • I will complete the rough draft of my unfinished NaNoWriMo novel, Chameleon’s Dish.
  • I will edit, revise where necessary,  and properly categorize all posts in this blog.

So these are the things I will be finishing this week……Talk to you all again….after the round!


8 comments

    • Shah –

      I didn’t really think of it as being a winner, so much as being true to myself, but – yeah, that works!

      I just drafted what I think will be my goals for Round 2…going to let them work their way into my consciousness for a few days to be sure, before I commit.

      They’re pretty extensive, but they were a lot easier to come up with than the first ones. The 80 days just past have given me a direction, a scope, and a confidence I didn’t have, at the beginning.

      People will say it’s a lot. They said that last round, too….and it is, and it was…..

      But I LIKE having a lot of what fires my passions on my life’s plate. I’m ready. The children are getting older, and more capable, and they need me less, and in less taxing ways, a lot of the time.

      After the intensity of their younger days, I feel a need to fill my life with more of my own pursuits, so that I live my own life, through myself, and not, as some parents seem to, through Jeremiah and Annalise, who have their own lives and passions, and don’t need me mucking about in them!

Comments are closed.