It Was Impossible for WIPpet Wednesday

Welcome to WIPpet Wednesday, a weekly blog hop which encourages writers to move WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.We’re led by the capable fingers and nimble mind of Emily Wrayburn.


Hello there, fellow WIPpeteers – and, to those just along for the ride – welcome! Hop in, get comfy…but don’t leave popcorn in the center seat!

It’s Wednesday again, and, again, I missed most of the other posters, and haven’t answered comments. I keep meaning to do those things, but life has been a whirlwind lately. It’s a little like I’m at a buffet, and someone else keeps bringing me plates of food to add to the heaping one I’ve already got in front of me.

There is just so much going on right now! Most of it is new, and involves a lot of learning how to do things I wasn’t even aware of a year ago. My brain and my mind are full, and so is my life.

I will get back to visiting and answering comments…things are finally getting to a point where I can see them leveling off ahead…after this weekend, there will be an easing, and, within the next two weeks, I’ll have addressed my two biggest and most time-sensitive obligations – the current batch of state-required homeschool reporting, and the short story revision for my contribution to the Dark and Bitter anthology.

Until then, though, things may be a bit hit-or-miss where my visiting and responding is concerned. I ask forgiveness, and patience – I will be making up for the lost time. August is slated to be a much quieter month for me, and I’m not looking for things to fill it up with!

Right now, though –

It’s time for another installment of my finally-getting–sassy-TnT fan fiction story, adapted from Humanity’s Enterprise. It’s a patchwork of stories, written in different styles, at different times, and for different projects. I’m slowly figuring out how to pull them all together into a coherent whole that explores just how and why T’Pol was the one Vulcan chosen to accompany Enterprise NX-01 on her maiden voyage.

I’ve decided to use this story, once revision gets to a point I’m comfortable with, as my initiation into Wattpad. So please don’t hesitate to let me know if something’s not working for you – it will make a better story in the long run!

Recap:

T’Pol longs to touch the human called Trip, with whom she has some personal history…but her duty requires that she objectify the humans. Will she give in, or follow orders?

Here’s the standard disclaimer. I don’t own them; I don’t make money from them; I just love them, and I tell the stories they give me as well as I can.

WIPpet Math:

  • Today is July 19, 2017.
  • I have 10 sentences for you today – adding the digits of the date, and the fact that it’s ten days to my birthday. =)

It Was Impossible

She must protect him. She must protect them.

As for what they had shared, it was impossible. Other than an awareness of other Vulcans, and deeper awareness of one’s family, hers was not a telepathic species.

She was not related to this or any human. They had never touched; other than a few words immediately before she returned to the safety of the Consulate, they had never spoken. Those words didn’t constitute a conversation.

Therefore, logically, they had shared nothing but a commonality of location for a brief time on a single Tuesday night fourteen months, three weeks, and five days previously. Her desire to touch her paired fingers to his, to experience the blending of their bioelectric signatures, was illogical, and must be repressed, if she was to fulfill her orders here.

T’Pol turned back toward Jonathan Archer, and clutched quivering hands behind her, the scars on her fingertips still throbbing with the urge to touch the human called Trip.

How will Trip interpret T’Pol’s lack of response?

Will she be able to protect this human crew?

Will they allow her to?

Any guesses?

If you enjoyed this snippet, and want something more before next Wednesday, you can pop over to my fanfiction.net page, or go directly to my Story A Day May drabbles – a loosely-connected serial of bite-sized, 100 word stories written to prompts.

Read one, all, or anywhere in between – these are the seeds of longer stories to come, and each one has its own tiny little twist.

And, as always, clicking the little blue froggy above will carry you on to other WIPpet offerings from our talented and diverse group of writerly folks. You can even add your own date-related excerpt if you’re so inclined!

6 comments

    • Yeah. We all know most Vulcans don’t want to shake hands – but imagine that hand belonged to someone to whom you were powerfully attracted, and touching it was going to affect you in an immediate and undeniable physical and mental way…

      While I would have loved to see her go for it, it’s probably best that she locked down her self control. =)

  1. Love this snippet! I can feel Tpol’s struggle and I am curious about what happens next?!
    That is interesting that she says “blending of their bioelectric signatures”…. is that what love is/ feels like to her?

  2. Oh, boy. That’s a difficult position for her to be in. I love that last paragraph and how sensory it is.

    • Leonard Nimoy decided long ago that Vulcans would be a hand-centric species. There are several instances of the paired-finger touch as a gesture of affection and/or desire. I’m thinking that extended hand of Trip’s was just about a proposition from T’Pol’s point of view, and touching it would have been more than her control could manage…but she can’t quite keep from WANTING to! There’s also a story to those old scars of hers….

Comments are closed.